Through the Valley

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.” (Psalm 23:4)

I have a friend who recently had been having some issues with her leg. In deciding to get it checked out, it was found she has stage IV melanoma and had to have a good portion of her femur and her knee removed, and then they would do tests to see where else it had spread in her body. It was very unexpected. When I contacted her to tell her I would be praying for her, her attitude surprised me. She told me she would be shaking in her shoes if it weren’t for knowing the Lord was with her. She is most certainly walking through the valley of the shadow of death.

Many of us have or are walking through that same valley, and it is dark and frightening. But it is certain we will also come to the other side of that valley; some to continue living, and some to pass on to their eternal home. There is no guarantee, only God knows what is on the other side. But when we are on that path we, like my friend, should not be “shaking in our shoes,” because God is right there with us, and if we allow Him, he will comfort us on that journey.

Where do you go for your comfort during those times? Your friends and family can only temporarily accompany you, and then they go back to their own path. But Psalm 23 tells us that God IS with us. Cling to Him tightly. He is the only One who will stay with you and get you through to the other side.

Leave a Reply

