Wind and Waves

“And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus. But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me.” (Matthew 14:29-30)

We recently felt God leading us to downsize our house and move closer to my son. We put our house up for sale and had two full-price offers within 24 hours, so in effect we felt Jesus was telling us to have faith and step out of the boat. But as I confidently left that comfortable little boat with Jesus in my sight, I suddenly noticed wind and waves all around me. There was a potentially serious medical complication to my illness blowing powerfully against me. Waves cresting with the physical challenges of packing and moving when I have no strength. I saw continuous small waves of my mother-in-law and her nursing home issues. A stressful wave of my son’s upcoming wedding. The constant wind of trying to find a house to live in and coming up empty. A huge wave of an unexpected and premature death of a family member. And yet another wave with my son experiencing serious health issues. I tried to keep my eyes on Jesus through all the wind and waves, and to see only Him, but those waves were hard to ignore and I, like Peter, found myself sinking.

Peter started out being courageous and confident in his faith, as many times perhaps we have. But he gave in to his own fears and despair when he saw the wind and the waves. When he knew he was in deep trouble, he cried out three simple words, “Lord save me.” Take note of what happened next, “And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?” Immediately Jesus caught him!

Are you out on the water right now? Are the wind and the waves beating on your faith? Do you feel like you are sinking? Take your eyes off the waves, focus your sight on Jesus and call out to Him. He is right there in the midst of the storm with you, waiting to catch you and keep you from sinking.

2 thoughts on “Wind and Waves

Leave a Reply

