Words Cannot Express

“O Lord, our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth!” (Psalm 8:1)

How would you describe God? Wonderful? Loving? Kind? Awesome? Mighty?

I always start my prayers off with praise to God for how wonderful He is. That was how Jesus instructed us in the Lord’s Prayer, and I feel He wants us to do just that. But when I try to find words to express how I feel about Him, I come up short. My words are completely inadequate. I even borrow from the Psalms sometimes, like the verse above, or Psalm 104:1 “O Lord my God, You are very great; You are clothed with honor and majesty.” Or even Psalm 100:5, “For the Lord is good; His mercy is everlasting, and His truth endures to all generations.”

But even those do not express how I really feel inside. I have seen the massive red rock mountains in Zion national park that made me just exclaim “Wow!” and realize that is such a tiny glimpse of what my God can do. Even this whole earth, with every cell being controlled by God, is just a minuscule representation of His power, knowledge and might.

I want to tell Him that in my prayers. I want to let Him know how I feel about Him in human words. But I realized something. There are no human words to completely describe God. I will never be able to do it. And that is how it should be. If we could explain God in human words, we would bring Him down to a level we can understand. He will always be so much higher than we can ever think, imagine or even voice that we can only give Him the highest praise we are able to and realize He is so much more.

Be in awe of Him every day. Tell Him in the best way you know how what you think of Him. He understands and can hear your heart.

Leave a Reply

