Giant Obstacles

“And Caleb stilled the people before Moses, and said, ‘Let us go up at once, and possess it; for we are well able to overcome it.’ But the men that went up with him said, ‘We be not able to go up against the people; for they are stronger than we.'” (Numbers 13:30-31)

I recently taught the story of the 12 spies going into the land of Canaan to my preschool class at church. If you remember the story, God commanded Moses to send 12 men into that land to check out the land, the people and bring back some of the fruit growing there. The land and the fruit was good, but the majority of the spies (10 out of 12) did not think the Israelites could go up against the people of the land. They compared themselves to the inhabitants as grasshoppers against giants.

They were not accusing God directly of not being able to overcome these obstacles. No, they were focused on themselves, saying they couldn’t do it, they were like little bugs compared to the people of the land of Canaan. They were so focused on their own inabilities, they talked about getting a captain and heading back to Egypt!

Are you focused on your physical restrictions and weaknesses? Are you holding them up as giants in your life that you cannot overcome? When you do, you are really holding them up as giants that God cannot overcome. In Numbers 14:11, He says, “How long will this people provoke me? And how long will it be ere they believe me?” Remember, God told us in His Word, “I can do all things through Christ, which strengtheneth me.” (Phillipians 4:13)

God doesn’t want us to rely on our own strength. He says He will make us strong when we are weak. He has chosen to use the weak things of the world, the base things and the despised (I Corinthians 1:27-28).

What is God wanting you to do? Will you trust Him, like Caleb and Joshua, or will you focus only on your own shortcomings and be like the 10 spies who just wanted to give up and go home?

3 thoughts on “Giant Obstacles

  1. Thank you, Julie, I needed this reminder today of not focusing on the giants in my life but instead focusing on God.
    I’ve had some rough days with a flare up of my chronic illness, and that’s where my focus has been. It’s so very easy to focus on me and how I am feeling right this moment instead of on all of God’s goodness to me and His MANY provisions. Thanks again for the reminder to not focus on the giants but on THE LORD who can defeat those giants!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

