Feeble Parts

” Nay, much more those members of the body, which seem to be more feeble, are necessary: And those members of the body, which we think to be less honorable, upon these we bestow more abundant honor; and our uncomely parts have more abundant comeliness. For our comely parts have no need: but God hath tempered the body together, having given more abundant honor to that part which lacked.” (I Corinthians 12:22-24)

I try to work through my pain by exercising to the best of my ability so I don’t become more disabled than I already am. Even though I tell my husband I sometimes feel like giving up, I know that whatever I can do will help me to function more normally. But my biggest obstacle to overcome is my arms. Simply moving them in any manner hurts, and trying to actually strengthen them with exercise feels impossible. They are more feeble than other parts of my body, but I really wouldn’t want to be without them.

I have also looked at people in the body of Christ who appear very strong and useful to God. In comparing myself to them in my feeble state, I feel like I am not of as much use to the body of Christ. I simply cannot do as much. You may even be thinking that because of your situation, the body doesn’t have much need for you. But Christ says you are indeed important! He, Himself, says you are vital and necessary, and He has actually given you “more abundant honor” than those who are stronger.

Don’t let anyone make you think you are not worthy to God. As it says in verse 21, “and the eye cannot say unto the hand, I have no need of thee: nor again the head to the feet, I have no need of you.”

Strengthen the part of the body you possess in the body of Christ. It is the only way you will get stronger. If you are the mouth, then proclaim Christ in any way you can, by teaching or encouraging words. If you are the feet, you can provide transportation for others to hear God’s word. Whatever part you encompass, use it to the best of your ability. The body needs you!

One thought on “Feeble Parts

  1. Julie, this is a great encouragement to know that we are always important to the Body of Christ no matter what our condition.. Thank You.

    Like

Leave a Reply

