The Little Things

The young lions do lack, and suffer hunger: but they that seek the Lord shall not want any good thing (Psalm 34:10).

As I was recently cleaning our house and filling soap dispensers in the bathrooms, I started wondering if my husband even noticed or appreciated the fact that he never runs out of soap.  I know it is just a little thing, but the tissue boxes are always replaced magically (by me) also.  He never has to worry about those little things as well as many other things that he doesn’t see me do that are always taken care of.  I have to wonder, if I am not here, will he realize how easy I made things for him?

After thinking those thoughts, God kind of nudged my heart and asked me if I notice or appreciate all the little things He does for me.  He reminded me my cupboards are always filled by Him; I never go to bed hungry.  I have clothes for every season and do not have to worry about not having anything to wear.  I simply have to turn on a faucet for fresh, clean water, whereas according to various statistics approximately one out of nine people do not have access to safe drinking water.

I am very fortunate to have access to medicine to help me function.  I would not be alive now without the medicines and doctors I have had over the many years I have had my illness.

Do I even have to worry about being able to attend church and worship Him?  Many times I don’t even give it a second thought.  Sometimes things like that go unnoticed until those things are taken away.  Do we appreciate how easy God makes things for us?  Or do we take those things for granted?

Despite your illness or disability, God has done and continues to do many little things in your life that may go unnoticed, especially in light of your difficulties.  Take some time to appreciate the little things He does for you every day.

Leave a Reply

