Joy and Gladness!

“The Lord hath done great things for us; whereof we are glad.”   Psalm 126:3.

I recently experienced a particularly “bad day.”  I wasn’t feeling well, work was especially hard, and I got done hours later than usual, and then a neighbor came over angry over a terrible misunderstanding.  It was enough to make a German cry…almost.  The next morning, I was still in a bad mood from the day before, but I decided to concentrate a big portion of my prayer to thanking God for the many blessings He gives me each and every day.  I was surprised at how my attitude changed as the day went on.

I try to regularly make it a habit to thank God aloud for blessings when I am doing simple tasks that do not take much concentration.  For example, if I am waiting for the microwave to warm something up, I try to think of things I am thankful for that day.  If someone could actually hear me, they might think it rather odd, but I audibly say things like, “Thank you, Lord, for the absolutely wonderful food You provide every meal.  Thank you for my warm, soft bed.  Thank you that I have people who love me for who I am.  Thank you for medicine that helps me feel better.”  Then, during the day, whenever I am grateful for something, I again just look to Him and say “thank you.”  If you make a habit of thanking God aloud, you will realize just how many wonderful blessings you do have in your life.

Thanking God should be an every-day occurrence.  I Thessalonians 5:17-18 says, “Pray without ceasing.  In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

Praying continually does not just mean bringing our requests to God and constantly asking for His help.  It also means thanking God on an ongoing basis for everything He provides for us.  When you do this, it puts a joy in your heart because you are concentrating on the good things in life, and not just ruminating over the bad.

One thought on “Joy and Gladness!

Leave a Reply

