Living For The Future

“Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before.”  Phillipians 3:13

I recently drove through the town where I attended high school.  As I drove through, several buildings brought back memories of events I enjoyed.  I remembered bowling my first game ever and getting a 30.  The restaurant on the main street brought back memories of waitressing.  The swimming pool reminded me of fun times with friends.  But most of all, I remember being healthy during that time.  I longed to go back.

But holding onto the past is impossible.  Think about people with Alzheimer disease.  Oftentimes, they do live in the past, and it is very sad for those around them.  I have to ask, was I a better person in the past?  Was I a stronger Christian then, closer to my Saviour?  When I think of all I have been through, it has been painful at times, but it has shaped me into someone stronger and given me a deeper relationship with God.  I also have a new sensitivity for others who are suffering.  When I was young, I rarely even noticed anyone but myself.

My soul is much healthier than it was in those years.  The body is still deteriorating, but the soul is getting stronger.  Living in the past would only keep me from what God has planned for me each and every new day.  Learn from each new moment He has for you and leave the past where God put it…in the past!

Leave a Reply

