Moving Forward (Part 3)

Perhaps this new year has you inspired to change something in your life.  I know I am.  Every January I look back at the previous year, my accomplishments and my failures, and I make goals to be more productive to God and those around me.  Even if my health deteriorates this year, I know there are things I can do that please God and help others.

We have been talking about spiritual gifts, and in this post we are going to explore giving.  Not just giving money to ministries, because not everyone has been blessed by God monetarily.  But most everyone can give of their time in some way to help serve the living God.  We all need to feel useful, and we can all be useful to God in some capacity.

Certainly if you are able to give money to ministries, it is a blessing for them and for you to be part of furthering ministries and accomplishing God’s plan throughout the world.  But you can give your time in service and especially in prayer to ministries.  No matter how bad your health is, you can pray!

Praying is not a visible ministry.  Most people want to do something where they will be recognized such as teaching, preaching, singing, etc.  But prayer is where the power is behind any ministry and it is desperately needed.  James 5:16 says, “The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”  And in Jeremiah 33:3 we read, “Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and show thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.”

I receive a lot of requests from ministries for donations.  I wish I could give to each and every one of them, but I cannot.  Several of these ministries really touch my heart, so I make it a habit to pray for those ministries.  If you are not familiar with any that could use your prayers, look into Voice of the Martyrs, Samaritan’s Purse or Joni and Friends, to name a few.  With Voice of the Martyrs, there is an endless supply of persecuted Christians around the world who need your prayers!  Pray specifically for them or perhaps missionaries your church supports.

Think of other ways you can give of yourself.  Without optimum health, a lot of our options are limited, but there are still ways to serve.  Maybe God has blessed you with a beautiful voice to glorify Him; then why not join the choir?  It isn’t dependent upon you being there when you are ill.  If you can play an instrument, use it for God.  If God has blessed you with accounting abilities, perhaps you can help in that capacity at your church.  If you are good with people, God can use some church greeters to make new people feel welcome!

Giving of yourself is very rewarding.  Be creative in your thinking.  God has definitely blessed you with some way you can serve.  What might that be?

3 thoughts on “Moving Forward (Part 3)

    • Bill, I had an unbelievably busy December. I over-comitted myself. But I plan on posting more now that life is getting back to normal. Thanks so much for the prayers! I hope you are doing well, and I will be praying for you, too. It’s nice to be missed! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

