Strength In Weakness (Part 6)

Much of our struggle is in our mind.  Look at Romans 7:23:  “But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind.”  We know God’s truths.  They are well-listed in the Scripture:

God loves us:  “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish but have everlasting life” (John 3:16).  “But God commendeth His love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”  (Romans 5:8).  “For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  (Romans 8:38-39).  “Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God.”  (I John 3:1a).

God cares for us:  “Casting all your care upon Him; for He careth for you.  (I Peter 5:7).  “Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and He shall sustain thee: He shall never suffer the righteous to be moved.”  (Psalm 55:22).

God has a plan specifically for us:  “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. ” (Jeremiah 29:11).  Psalm 37:23 “The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord: and he delighteth in his way.”  Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine understanding; in all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy  paths.”

God will never leave us:  “Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.” (Joshua 1:9).   “For he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” (Hebrews 13:5b).  “And lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world.” (Matthew 28:20b)

He is our refuge:  “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” (Psalm 46:1).  “The LORD also will be a refuge for the oppressed, a refuge in times of trouble.” (Psalm 9:9).  “But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning: for Thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble.” (Psalm 59:16). “The God of my rock; in Him will I trust: He is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my refuge, my Saviour.” (2 Samuel 22:3).

These are facts, plain and simple, based on God’s own Word.  If you believe God, and believe what He is saying in Scripture, then these points cannot be disputed.  The problem is mind games.  The devil is very good at them.  He will try to make you doubt every one of these truths.  His main goal is to destroy your relationship with God.

Are we ever free from these mind games?  Does the devil get sick of playing with our heads?  Not a chance.  The game never really ends.  You will be playing it until God takes you home, or until Satan totally wins your mind over to not believing God, to thinking God is not on your side, to rejecting all of the truths we just covered.  Satan doesn’t like to lose.  So stay close to God, because He never loses.

One thought on “Strength In Weakness (Part 6)

Leave a Reply

