What Is Your Perspective? (Part 1)

There is a favorite quote of mine from Pastor Charles Swindoll that says, “I believe the single most significant decision I can make on a day-to-day basis is my choice of attitude.  It is more important than my past, my education, my bankroll, my successes or failures, fame or pain, what people think of me or say about me, my circumstances, or my position.  Attitude keeps me going or cripples my progress.  It alone fuels my fire or assaults my hope.”

It just isn’t natural to have a good attitude about circumstances in life that make day-to-day living difficult.  But God can help change our attitude.  Have you ever gone to church when you really didn’t want to go, but you made the first step and went anyway?  Then perhaps you started singing to the Lord, and you felt a little bit better.  Perhaps the sermon started speaking to your heart, and by the time you left, your attitude had changed?  That is the Spirit of God working in you to change your attitude.

A lot of our attitude to our station in life is our perspective of it.  This is so important and key in how we handle our illness/pain.  We can either look at it from God’s eyes and see the benefits that come from it, or we can have a life-long pity party and invite everyone to come along with us.  That’s not saying at times we won’t have moments of weakness and fall into the pity party scenario, especially on days when your body is weaker and it seems resolve is weaker, too.  But we need to keep our attitude positive.

You can change your attitude by changing the way you think.  If you think less and less about God by reading His Word less, praying to Him less, and just generally shutting Him out of your thoughts, the Spirit of God in you will diminish, and your attitude regarding your situation will go south.  But the opposite is also true.  If you draw closer to Him and actually increase your time with Him, your whole perspective of what you are going through will change.  The absence of His presence is the absence of His peace!

2 thoughts on “What Is Your Perspective? (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

