Reaching The End Of Your Rope (Part 2)

The most natural thing for a believer to do in a case of crisis is to go to someone for help, maybe your pastor, or friends in church, or maybe even just being in church would help. Mature Christians can be a great help. They can encourage, edify and uplift and help put things in a Biblical perspective. There are times we need someone else’s Godly perspective and to guide us in God’s principles. But none of those people can be your Saviour! So be careful that you do not put someone in that role.

Listen to what David had to say in Psalm 142 verses 4 and 5 about help from others compared to help from God, “I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul.  I cried unto thee, O Lord: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.'” God has been comforting people for centuries, and He will not let you down, even when others have reached their limits in helping with your problems.

But have you gotten to the point where you have deep, meaningful prayer with the true Saviour? I mean really intimate prayer expressing all of your thoughts to God? That is the kind of relationship He wants with you! Not repetitive prayers of “please make me well again.” He wants you to share your feelings from the depths of your soul.  Psalm 55:22, “Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and He shall sustain thee: He shall never suffer the righteous to be moved.” My prayers have changed so much since my illness.  They used to consist of mechanically going through my requests repetitively each day.  But now I talk to Him like I would a friend.  I really get to the depths of my feelings, and feel much more of a connection with Him than I used to.  But also be careful to listen to what He has to say to you, don’t do all the talking.  Tell Him you need a word from Him today.

I take my example of pouring out my deepest feelings from the Psalms.  Let’s take a look at Psalm 18, verses 1 through 6 which says, “I will love thee, O Lord, my strength.  The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.  I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies.  The sorrows of death compassed me, and the floods of ungodly men made me afraid.  The sorrows of hell compassed me about: the snares of death prevented me.  In my distress I called upon the Lord, and cried unto my God: He heard my voice out of His temple, and my cry came before him, even into His ears.” In this verse, the psalmist was pretty much at the end of his rope. The sorrows of hell surrounded him. That indicates he was at a very low point in life, and he poured it all out to God. Can you relate?  Then get into a truly deep conversation with God.

Leave a Reply

