Less Of Me, More Of Him (Part 7)

So we have established that we need more of Him, more of Christ, and less of ourselves to be complete. And we can do this through surrendering our lives over to God. Surrender literally means to relinquish possession or control of something. If you are totally surrendered to God, then everything you have, your possessions, your relationships, your goals, your future, even your life, must be relinquished to God. It means resigning what happens in your life into His hands. He gave you that life in the first place, so you would just be giving it back to Him.

Did you realize Jesus Himself led a surrendered life? Look at the following verses. Jesus tells us in John 6:38, “For I came down from heaven, not to do Mine own will, but the will of Him that sent Me.” And we see in John 8:50, “And I seek not Mine own glory.” In that same chapter, in verses 28-29 we see “When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am He, and that I do nothing of Myself; but as my Father hath taught Me, I speak these things.  And He that sent Me is with Me: the Father hath not left Me alone; for I do always those things that please Him.”

Jesus did not have to surrender His life. He chose to, as we see in John 10:17 and 18, which says, “Therefore doth My Father love Me, because I lay down My life, that I might take it again.  No man taketh it from Me, but I lay it down of Myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again.”  Are you more worthy to hold onto complete control of your life than Jesus?

Our goal should be to become more like Jesus. Wouldn’t you like to be able to say, as Jesus did, “I always do those things that please Him?” To do this, we need to relinquish control of our lives, our will and turn everything over to God, just as Christ did. I am not an expert on doing this by any means. It was even hard for Jesus. He prayed that if it was at all possible that he would not have to die on the cross as evidenced in Matthew 26, verse 39, which says, “And He went a little farther, and fell on his face, and prayed, saying, O My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from Me.'” But we see Jesus surrendering to God in the words that follow, saying, “nevertheless not as I will, but as Thou wilt.” We can pray that God will heal us, but we must also be willing to accept the fact that it might not be His will. Our will should always be in sync with His will.

If we do not wish to surrender to God, who does that make us like? Lucifer also did not want to surrender to God. He would like you to join him.

Leave a Reply

