Less Of Me, More Of Him (Part 2)

In Part 1, we discussed how pride keeps us from becoming more like Christ.  If you think about it, it was pride that put us in this mess on earth in the first place. Satan’s fall was because of pride. We are told in the Bible of how his desire to be above God caused his fall. Isaiah 14:12-15, “How art thou fallen from heaven, O Lucifer, son of the morning! How art thou cut down to the ground, which didst weaken the nations!  For thou hast said in thine heart, I will ascend into heaven, I will exalt my throne above the stars of God: I will sit also upon the mount of the congregation, in the sides of the north:  I will ascend above the heights of the clouds; I will be like the most High.  Yet thou shalt be brought down to hell, to the sides of the pit” (emphasis mine).

Ever since his fall, Satan has used pride against God. Think of Eve in the garden. Why do you think she listened to Satan at all? “And the serpent said unto the woman, Ye shall not surely die:  For God doth know that in the day ye eat thereof, then your eyes shall be opened, and ye shall be as gods, knowing good and evil.  And when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was pleasant to the eyes, and a tree to be desired to make one wise, she took of the fruit thereof, and did eat, and gave also unto her husband with her; and he did eat” (Genesis 3:4-6 emphasis mine). Hmmm. That sounds like pride. Eve wanted to be wise. She wanted it to be more about Eve and less about God. She did not want to have to depend on Him. Of course we can see her mistake now, in retrospect. As they say, hindsight is 20/20. But how many of us do the same thing? Be honest, we would like to be able to rely on our own wisdom and on our own strength. But as Christians, that isn’t what God has in mind. It has to be more of Him, and less of us. As my dad says, you have to take out the me and put in the He!

One thought on “Less Of Me, More Of Him (Part 2)

  1. Yes, my pride wants to blame God & ask why are you allowing this to happen to me or why are YOU doing this to me. It is difficult for me to realize that the real purpose is to make me into something better for His glory. Maybe God wants me to be an example of faithfulness in trials.

    Like

Leave a Reply

