The Enemy Attacks When You Are Vulnerable (Knowing The Enemy Part 2)

Luke 4:13 says, “And when the devil had ended all the temptation, he departed from him for a season.”

If you are part of the body of Christ, then be assured, Satan is going to try to destroy you.  You have made him furious, and he is going to flood your life with all kinds of troubles.  You better believe he knows where you are most vulnerable, and he will not rest until he has used every resource he has to destroy your faith in God.  “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: Whom resist stedfast in the faith, knowing that the same afflictions are accomplished in your brethren that are in the world.”  (1 Peter 5:8-9).

Peter painted a good picture when he wrote the devil is as a roaring lion.  When a lion is attacking a group of animals, does he go for the strongest and fastest?  Definitely not!  He looks for the weak.  He seeks “whom he may devour.”  That would be the one who is at a point where he is not his strongest, perhaps when your faith has already been through a trial and it is weakening.  That is when the devil will strike.  There is the opportune time he has been waiting for.

There are those who like sympathy who will nurse their weakness and keep it.  If you are one of those Christians, you will never be free.  The enemy has you in his grasp and will keep you there, willingly.

The devil knows he can’t get to most seasoned Christians through blatant temptations, so he is going to be more subtle than that.  Since he does know your weaknesses, he will flood your life with pain, struggles and trials specifically made for you.  And if there is any one area in your life that you have not surrendered to God, he will grab onto that and use it against you.  For example, maybe you have not given your health over to Him.  Perhaps that is the one thing you just feel you cannot totally trust Him with.  Whatever it is, the devil will use any circumstances or lack of trust he can to pull you into his control.  Recognize these plans for what they are.  Do not blame God for Satan’s attacks.  Look at them with spiritual eyes and turn to God’s Word, because the Bible holds power against Satan!

When Jesus was tempted by Satan, what did He use as a weapon?  Turn to Matthew 4:1-11.  This is where Jesus was tempted by Satan after Jesus had been fasting for 40 days and 40 nights.  Notice the enemy picked a time when he knew Jesus would be weak physically.  Don’t think he doesn’t know when we are weak physically.  He is waiting for a time like that.  Notice what Jesus used to fight the temptation.  He quoted scripture!  He used Deuteronomy 8:3, Deuteronomy 6:16 and Deuteronomy 6:13.  Also, take note that after this the devil left.  So if Christ himself used Scripture to battle Satan, isn’t that a good example of what we need to do?  When you are weak, when Satan is attacking, get into the Word and use it to do battle.  It is the sword that can slay the devil.  Hebrews 4:12 says, “For the Word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow. ”  Praying Scripture is very powerful against the enemy.  So claim verses aloud while you are praying.  The devil isn’t hearing you when you quote verses aloud, he hears God!

3 thoughts on “The Enemy Attacks When You Are Vulnerable (Knowing The Enemy Part 2)

  1. Thank you so much. I literally cried when I read your devotion for today. I have felt for so long now that I seriously can’t handle much more. I could sit and complain with every cracked, snap & pop-I have EDS-Eilers Dallas Syndrome, fibro and have been in 4 car accidents. But I still drive!! Lol…I have such a hard time though, letting God drive my car…it’s quite of pathetic because I know better. But just as soon as I do, bam, something hits me! Problems with my ex non stop, I have been praying and it seems when I do, BAM! Outta no where an attack. Or my Dr. He doesn’t even believe I have the EDS, ALTHOUGH one has to be diagnosed by a certain kind of speciallist. It just seems it’s always an argument, it’s like he doesn’t believe me. It’s so hard. Please may I ask if you have a prayer group, maybe add me to it. I’ve had problems all my life with this. Hard time a is all I get. ‘It’s in your head’ . I’m so tired, scared and alone both oarents/a step dad and mom, my dad’s too ‘involved’ with his own life. My ‘parents’ both have serious cancer, I am going to lose both soon and just lost my bestfriend/boyfriend of 7 years. It was all a lie and the last year(8) Allike he did was play games because of past mistakes made by me. It’s a mess. I try to get closer to God and then my world falls apart by someone or something bad happening. A flare, he returns just to ‘hurt’ me more by lying and cheating. I need God so bad, I need to stay close to Him, though I fail so quickly, so easily. Thank you for your emails they are truly an inspiration! My prayers are with you and yours. God bless you richly in all you do. God bless,
    Sarah

    Like

    • Sarah, I am so sorry to hear about these struggles you are having. It really sounds like the enemy is attacking you on all sides. Draw close to God, and He will draw close to you (James 4:8), and stick as closely to Him as you can! But from what I gather, you do not have a good support system, and that is crucial. It would really help to have a good church family to support you, since it seems that your biological family is not very supportive. Other Christians can help when you are going through so much. I will be praying for you. Stay in the Word and do not lose faith.

      Like

Leave a Reply

